With Great Power…… Comes more tickets

And responsibility. I don’t quite recall where I was going with that line but, I was trying to play off the idea that I recently received admin access to Mozilla’s Butter/Popcorn repos. Now I can help stage tickets as well and we aren’t completely reliant on people like Jon, David, David or Scott to do it.

Anywho, the last week has been a very busy one in Popcornia. We finished a mini release, v0.5.1, which was intended to work over the kinks and other smalls bugs that would be associated with our introduction of the Django front end that will act as the template library and project management for users. Truth be told it felt more like an extended release because we wound up just throwing in as many bugs as we can into the release, especially ones deemed ground breaking for the upcoming Story Camp with Mozilla. The week started off at about 36 tickets and we wound up getting in about 60. Whatever we couldn’t get done, but was still deemed necessary for the Django front end and “beta” release of Popcorn Maker, was pushed to v0.5.2.

It is due to be finished June 15th and it’s ticket total is at 68 with 44 still to be resolved/staged.

I definitely think that isn’t too farfetched of a total, but I know we always managed to find a good 15 more bugs in the final 2 days of a release. Oh, and we have our 0.6 release due to be finished for July 1st which still has 162 tickets left.

Needless to say, the last few weeks have been interesting and so will the next few as well. It’s like we have the pedal down the entire time, with no time to really rest much. This is where we are going to have to cherish our weekends because otherwise we won’t have much time off at all!

Canada Day long weekend camping can’t come soon enough.

That said, it’s still fun and exciting. I’m able to learn more areas of the code and I find myself able to easily take on new tickets and feel confident enough that I can’t handle them. I’m still the king of absurdly long review periods for no good reason though. No one will ever be able to take that crown away from me.

Leave a Reply

