OCE Discovery and more Popcorn popping

This week has been a shorter work week for me in the typical sense. I was asked to go help represent Seneca College down at OCE Discovery 12, a conference held by Ontario Centres of Excellence aimed at bringing together key players from industry, academia, government, the investment community as well as entrepreneurs and students to pursue collaboration opportunities.

This event was very interesting for me. It was a great opportunity to work on my presentation skills, although not in the typical sense. One thing that was said to us back at the beginning of the summer was that we need to be able to talk about what we are working on to anyone at anytime; Be able to describe our project on a high level so that anyone could understand it. I spoke to people of varying knowledge levels: from nothing all the way to other programmers from other schools, such as Niagara Research.

However, I feel that something like Popcorn is hard to show off at that kind of event. All we have are computer monitors showing videos on screen. In particular we were demoing our open source work done in conjunction with Native Earth and that particular demo is not particularly eye caching. It would have been better to show off some of more flashier demos that are out there on the net or maybe make one ourselves. What might have been even better would be to have multiple computers setup allowing people to play with Popcorn Maker. That is something more people can understand and the fact that they would be creating something themselves would make it a more lasting experience.

Still, there was a lot of cool things on display, including but not limited to: the U of T electric car that was used as part of a race across Australia and an app that was able to read your brains waves measuring focus levels that got you to controls the physics of a game. Going to this kind f event has definitely given me more thoughts about the kinds of things I want to do in the future. I never would have thought this 3 months ago but perhaps the career of a tech evangelist is in my future!

    Oh Yeah, I Did Some Coding Too

This week consisted of more fixes for butters unit testing and many code reviews. We also spent a lot of time discussing key aspects of the Django app that is going to make its way into Popcorn Maker soon along with new UI/UX stuff. While I am learning a lot more when it comes to JavaScript, I’m still very humble in my skills levels. Projects like these keep you humble because the code can be very hard to follow and learn. I’m sure if someone else was handling my tickets it would take them 1/4 of the time but that’s why we are all here; to learn.

I’m looking forward to finishing this stuff up so I can switch gears back to UI testing now that we have additional tools available, such as David Humphrey’s addition of Firefox’s “special powers” chrome access JavaScript. Going to be awesome!

One response to “OCE Discovery and more Popcorn popping

  1. pliu 22/05/2012 at 5:31 pm

    A very thoughtful report.

Leave a Reply

