OSD700 – 0.8 Release

For this release, and the remaining of the semester, I have and will be working on implementing the missing video statistics with my colleague Dave Seifried. For starters I have been attacking the playbackJitter statistic and let me tell you, for someone who has never worked with this area of the code before it has been quite challenging figuring out how things work on this side of things. Perhaps I shouldn’t have jumped over to this stuff this late in the semester but then again it’s been quite the change of pace.

To be brief, playbackJitter is used to obtain an overall metric for perceived playback quality and smoothness of the video up to the current point when the value was been retrieved. From what I gather, it’s something that is constantly calculated along the way so where I wind up placing the code to calculate this is going to be key.

By now I know how to easily update the IDL files and add getters/setters for the attributes (getter only in this case). The problem becomes figuring out where the information I need to manipulate is and appropriately giving myself a path to access that information. At this point I’m relatively comfortable with speaking with some of these immensely smart people who work with Mozilla so I went about talking to Chris Pearce about the kinds of things I should be looking at for this.

He first pointed me in the direction of looking at how MozFrameDelay was handled in the nsDOMHTMLVideoElement.cpp class. In this case the information is handled in VideoImageContainer::SetCurrentFrame() by setting the mPaintDelay member variable here each time SetCurrentFrame() is called and then grabbing it’s value in seconds. In the end a VideoFrame is just an image so it actually makes sense in the end. VideoImageContainer::SetCurrentFrame() itself is actually set everytime a current frame is true (in this case I’m assuming it means that were was a frame successfully decoded) in nsBuiltinDecoderStateMachine::AdvanceFrame() which calls nsBuiltinDecoderStateMachine::RenderVideoFrame().

So I can see how that all links together right now which makes a lot of sense to me.

This then has lead me to look at all the different bits of data available to me within VideoImageContainer. FrameDelay I feel definitely is part of it, but I at this point I don’t think with the code that is available there that I could actually calculate playbackJitter. This leads me to a suggestion cpearce gave to me that I should add a new parameter to SetCurrentFrame that will contain the data about the actual intended time the frame spent on the screen. This data could be easily grabbed from the aData argument of nsBuiltinDecoderStateMachine::RenderVideoFrame().

I now have a good direction to aim for and have a concrete idea of what I actually need to do. Stay tuned for tomorrow as I’ll actually be able to implement something!

WWWYKI

Leave a Reply

