Tumblr Plugin – 0.3 Release

Woah, almost completely forgot to actually blog about this!

I finally finished off this plugin, long overdue in my opinion. It’s funny because this was actually the first ticket that I planned on working on for our 0.1 release but things took a left turn at Albuquerque when I found that small typo in the old Facebook plugin. Next thing you know I’m re-writing the Facebook plugin during 0.1 and 0.2!

I’m glad I finally finished this off for a few reasons. For one I felt bad neglecting it and giving it no attention for so long but because it also showed that I could write something from scratch. The Facebook plugin as it stands now may be very different than it originally was but I still didn’t write any of it from the ground up and I had a lot of guidance on it the whole way through. With the Tumblr Plugin I was left to make a lot of decisions myself about how I would process the JSON data that was being returned to me and this made me really have to think through how I wanted the user to not only view their data but to use this plugin.

The Tumblr API provides a lot of options when it comes to returning multiple posts with multiple sorting options but to me it didn’t make sense to allow a person to request multiple posts. All the plugins to this point have been about singular things with each invocation of an event. To me it didn’t make sense to be displaying multiple blog posts at once but rather to be specific and show information about one at a particular time. That and it’s a whole hell of a lot easier to code this but also use as a developer because there aren’t nearly as many confusing options you have to worry about.

So I finally submitted it for review last Thursday fully expecting it to fail and need changes, which did happen. I tried to make it as efficient as possible based on what I know but unfortunately I haven’t been programming that long so I don’t really know that much, let alone in Javascript :P. In the end I’m thankful for the people that I work with in Popcorn.js because they know this and are able to help me learn along the way while doing work for them. Chris was able to provide a lot of pointers and suggestions to me to allow my plugin to become that much better and I’m thankful for it.

My Repo <– is there.
My final Commit <– is there.

I eventually want to come back to this and change how some of the request types display their data. One in particular is the chat blogpost because right now it simply displays each dialogue item all at once. I want it to almost be it's own sub event that maybe fades each item in to add a nice cool effect to it.

Anyway that's all for now. See you all around!

Leave a Reply

