Getting your Code into a Software Release

First off I’ll premise this with the fact that this isn’t exactly a guide on how to get it done but rather my experiences with getting my own code commited, reviewed and eventually staged and on it’s way to the 0.9 release of Popcorn.js.

It all started Thursday night when I was browsing through some of the existing plugins to try and figure out the language some more so I could start working on the ticket I choose for the tumblr plugin. I was looking at the Facebook plugin when I noticed an error left over from the original writers copy and paste from the flickr plugin that read:

flickr target container doesn’t exist

Flickr container you say? Well of course, this is the facebook plugin! Anyway I found this quite humorous so I figured I would point it out on IRC for a good laugh and chuckle from everyone. Shortly afterwards though John Buckley quickly asked me to file a ticket for it, claim it and then commit said code so it could be reviewed. At first I was rather surprised because to me it seemed like it would be such a waste of everyones time for such a minor error, that I could easily just fix it anyway and there wouldn’t be a need to “waste time” with a ticket on it. John quickly said to me however that it really doesn’t matter how small the issue is, that you really need records of every change that’s made to the code so people can know why and when there were changes made. So I did and decided I would worry about it later the next day.

While I was headed to sleep Rick Waldron updated the ticket to a sooner release (1.0 to 0.9) knowing it could be in a sooner release. He also wondered what I could do to test the situation for when that error would be thrown because there currently was no test for this in the current facebook.unit.js tests. Sure enough most of my afternoon I was trying to figure out how to write this test with no success at all for the first little while. Eventually Rick gave me the hint of using a try..catch block of some sort as well as some example code to start and along with David Humphrey reminding me to look at some of the test suites for the other plugins. Sure enough once I took a loot at the tests for the lastfm plugin it all immediately clicked. Double checks and a few runs with the test suite later, I have a piece of code that has passed both reviews and has been staged. I will officially have code in the 0.9 release of Popcorn.js and it’s really because of the help from Rick and David Seifried. They were great help with me learning what the heck I had to do because they realized I wasn’t a “Javascript Jedi” knowing what to do completely. I hadn’t written javascript since INT222 and that stuff was incredibly basic.


Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Anyway. It was quite the day and really I am feeling pretty good right now. I still can’t say I truly know what I am doing when it comes to Javascript but it’s really assuring to know that I can always ask the community for help and that they will do what they can. Don’t forget to return the favor however people if you ever have the opportunity to!

2 responses to “Getting your Code into a Software Release

  1. Pingback: What is 0.1?

  2. Pingback: My 0.1 Release for OSD600 with Popcorn.js « Thoughts of a programmer in training

Leave a Reply

