The Terms and Conditions We Agree To

First week of classes for the fall semester and the one course that I am easily the most excited to take is OSD600. I’ve been limited in what I have been able to experience programming wise and I really want to get involved in something that matters and will expose me to real world standards. This course will allow me to do that and hell, if I do well enough and put in a lot of effort I might just find myself with a position as a researcher for CDOT! (one can hope at least :P)

Anyway besides all the the normal first class administrative stuff we all go through we were asked by our professor, David Humphrey, to comment on two different sets of software license agreements; one open source and one proprietary license. I choose to look over the Apple License Agreement for Mac OSX 10.7 as I recently upgraded to it and was curious about what silly things I agreed to without even reading them. The other I chose was the open source BSD 2 Clause as I wanted to know more about this one in particular never having used it myself.

  1. I had no idea that I was limited in how many instances of Mac OSX I can run using a virtual machine. In this case Apple limits you to two. I personally don’t have the need for it anyway to run any VM instances of OSX but still it seems a little bit odd to me that they would want to limit you.
  2. While this section below doesn’t surprise me as any company will always stay away from the blame, I still found the wording incredibly funny.

    APPLE DOES NOT WARRANT AGAINST INTERFERENCE WITH YOUR ENJOYMENT OF THE APPLE
    SOFTWARE AND SERVICES, THAT THE FUNCTIONS CONTAINED IN, OR SERVICES PERFORMED OR
    PROVIDED BY, THE APPLE SOFTWARE WILL MEET YOUR REQUIREMENTS, THAT THE OPERATION OF THE APPLE SOFTWARE OR SERVICES WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR-FREE, THAT ANY
    SERVICES WILL CONTINUE TO BE MADE AVAILABLE, THAT THE APPLE SOFTWARE OR SERVICES
    WILL BE COMPATIBLE OR WORK WITH ANY THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE, APPLICATIONS OR THIRD
    PARTY SERVICES, OR THAT DEFECTS IN THE APPLE SOFTWARE OR SERVICES WILL BE
    CORRECTED.

  3. The fact that we agree to an enormous amount of data to me taken about how we use the software. Whether it’s diagnostic, usage or location data that Apple and any third parties that are considered to be apart of Apple; it’s a lot. They say that the purpose is to make their own service better but I don’t believe them really.

    By using any location-based services provided by or through the
    Apple Software, you agree and consent to Apple’s and its partners’, licensees’ and third party
    developers’ transmission, collection, maintenance, processing and use of your location data and
    queries to provide and improve such products and services

When it comes to the BSD 2 Clause license agreements you can essentially do whatever you want. The only requirements are that you show the appropriate copyright information in your source/binary files and provide a disclaimer saying the software is “As Is” for binary files.

One thing’s for sure, open source is a really easy way to dive in and work with real code that people use without the limitations of proprietary licenses.

Anyway, that’s it for now. Tune in next week!

Leave a Reply

